Athlone Boundary Review

In Blog by Denis Naughten

325 years ago this summer the Orangemen, led by Dutch general Godart de Ginkel, marched from Mullingarto take the Connacht town of Athlone and after a 10 day bombardment they eventually took Athlone Castle.

Now we have another set of ‘invaders’ marching from Mullingar. This time they want to take over the economic heart of County Roscommon and we have to STOP them. Minister Alan Kelly’s boundary scheme would see the Westmeath county boundary shifted  to include Monksland, Bealnamullia, Drum, Crannagh, Bogganfin, Barrybeg, Doogue, Newtowncarberry, Taduff, Bealrea, Newtown, Curryroe, Kilmacormack, Crancam, Ardnanure, Meehambee, Curraghaleen, Rooskey, Cloongowna and other townlands. These areas would be taken away from County Roscommon along with c.5-7,000 population (see map).






They are determined to succeed on this occasion and to stop this happening,  it is vital that every Connacht man & woman voices their objection  to this land grab.

I’m urging you to support County Roscommon & the town of Monksland by making your submission before 5pm on Wednesday 27th of  January 2016.
By post to:  Áras An Chontae Mount Street,Mullingar,Co. Westmeath N91 FH4NBy e-mail to:

Forms are available at:,A,Submission/

Further details are available at: