Funding for local walks will attract tourists – Naughten

In East Galway, Mid-Roscommon, News, North-Roscommon, West-Roscommon by Denis Naughten

Ireland’s Camino gets further investment boost


Local TD Denis Naughten has welcomed the inclusion of the Hymany Way in County Galway and the Leitrim Way in County Leitrim as part of the National Walks Scheme.

“This will pay farmers for maintaining the marked walks and this investment will help to promote the Beara Breifne Way from West Cork to Northern Ireland, bringing tourists into Roscommon & East Galway,” explained Denis Naughten.

“This investment is part of a commitment which I secured as part of the Programme for Government to support farmers right along the walking route from County Cork to Cavan, via Roscommon and East Galway, which will be marketed by Failte Ireland as Ireland’s Camino route.”

The trail goes through 10 counties and four provinces and is based on the heritage and culture of Ireland and will benefit over 60 communities along the route.

“Up to now some of the farmers along the route did receive a payment to maintain the trail but those along the Hymany Way and Leitrim Way did not. There remains a number of landowners along this route who are not part of the National Walks Scheme but I’m determined to work with Minister Ring to complete this not only to Cavan but to bring it right up to the Antrim Coastline,” added Denis Naughten.

“This is not just good news for landowners and for those who want to get out and experience the beautiful outdoor areas that we have in abundance but investment in this trail will pay an economic dividend. Thousands of tourists make walking, hiking and other outdoor pursuits an important part of their stay in Ireland.”

The Beara Breifne walking and cycling trail is based on the historic march of O’Sullivan Beara in 1603 and links 60 villages and towns along the spine of the country. The route through County Galway combines the Hymany Way and the Suck Valley Way which then links up in County Roscommon with the Lung Way and the Arigna Miners Way.

“The villages and towns in County Roscommon and Galway through which the walk/cycle route runs are rich in tradition but have seen limited numbers of tourists up to now and the development of this trail as part of the Ireland’s Hidden Heartlands tourism brand will be a major benefit in attracting tourism to these areas,” concluded Denis Naughten.




Editor’s Note: The 10 new trails included in the first phase of the expanded Walks Scheme are:


County Name of Trail No. of landowners (approx.) Length on private land (approx.)
Clare East Clare Way 33 36.5 km
Galway Hymany Way 40 60 km
Kilkenny Gathabawn Loop Walk 4 2 km
Kilkenny Kilmacoliver Loop Walk 3 3 km
Laois Binninea Walk Cullahill 10 4 km
Leitrim Leitrim Way 120 24 km
Sligo Keash Hill Trail 3 1.8 km
Tipperary Ormond Way 49 31 km
Tipperary Multeen Way 16 9.4 km
Wicklow St Kevin’s Way 5 2.5 km