€2.5m allocated for walking and cycling infrastructure in Roscommon – Naughten

In East-Roscommon, Infrastructure, Local Issues, Mid-Roscommon, News, North-Roscommon, Posts by Topic, South Roscommon, West-Roscommon by Denis Naughten

Local TD Denis Naughten has welcomed the allocation of €2.5m for walking and cycling infrastructure in County Roscommon by the National Transport Authority.

Among the areas which will receive funding are projects in Bealnamullia, Lecarrow, Cootehall, Castlerea and Ballinlough.

As part of the allocation the Safe Routes to School programme will continue to provide for safer cycling and walking facilities for a number of schools across the county including Carrick NS, Ballinlough; Coláiste Chiaráin Summerhill; Cruachain Croghan; St Joseph’s NS Summerhill; St Paul’s NS, Castlerea; Scoil na Ainegeal Naofa, Boyle; St Attracta’s NS, Ballaghaderreen and St Michael’s & St Patrick’s NS Cootehall.

“This funding will help to provide safe walkways and cycleways for communities throughout the county and is particularly welcome where it improves safety for those who walk and cycle to school,” stated Denis Naughten.


Editor’s Note: Allocations in County Roscommon.